New Writers Awards 2020 now open!

Applications are now open for the 2020 New Writers Awards and Callan Gordon Award. The deadline for all applications is Wednesday 3 July.

Awardees receive:

  • A £2,000 cash award, allowing them to focus on their work
  • Tailored personal development opportunities, which can include mentoring from writers and industry professionals
  • PR, performance and presentation training
  • The opportunity to showcase work to publishers and agents
  • A week long retreat offering time, space and the freedom to create new work in idyllic surroundings

There are three categories, Fiction and Non-Narrative Fiction (also known as creative non-fiction), Poetry and Children’s and Young Adult Fiction. You can only apply to one category per year. 

In 2020, the Callan Gordon Award, set up to celebrate the life of a young Scottish Writer, will also be awarded. Find out more about the Callan Gordon Award.

Entries are invited in English, Scots and a combination of both. There are also two awards for Gaelic writers, run in association with the Gaelic Books Council. You can apply for a Gaelic NWA in English or Gaelic. These will open later in the year.

Click here for more information on how to apply.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close